Our small vibrant community originated in the early 1900’s, when a few settlers (of German heritage) envisioning a better life on land of their own, immigrated from the United States to the community known as “Dead Moose Lake”. In 1924 Father Matthias the parish priest, chose the name “Marysburg” to replace the original unsavoury name of Dead Moose Lake.
Church Choir 2007
Marysburg, in its heyday consisted of a few houses, a general store, a convent and boarding school, a blacksmith shop and a flour mill. In 1903, the first church, a log structure, was built at a cost of $287.50. With the community growing so quickly an eight-foot addition was added to the church but soon it too became too small for the ever-growing population.
In 1906, a larger frame church was constructed at a cost of $2850. A devastating tornado destroyed it on June 27, 1919.
A catastrophic event like this might have taken the heart out of such a small community, but not so of Marysburg. No strangers to adversity, the parishioners rallied to build Marysburg’s third church. The community forged ahead with determination. In early 1920 construction began on the solid brick church that remains standing today. The first service was held on May 29, 1921, the feast of Corpus Christi. The cost of constructing the church exceeded $30,000 with the cost of the beautiful statues and interior furnishings adding to the overall expenditure. In 1926 there was a debt of $26,400 remaining which increased over the depression years. Fr. John Hable, pastor, was able to announce at Christmas, 1945, that, thanks to a special debt-reducing drive, the entire debt had been wiped out!
We are so fortunate and grateful to be entrusted with this legacy.